Upon Daddy’s Shoulders


If you have the chance to walk your child to school, do it. Michael, at my office, does that every day. Actually, he puts his beautiful daughter on his shoulders and carries her to the office where we have a day care for the children of our employees. Michael and I had a conversation the other day about how much very young children remember. I told him that his daughter Charlotte would remember, for the rest of her life, that her daddy carried her to the office day care every day. There will never be a better Daddy or a bigger hero to her.
halloweenclick.jpgWhen there are celebrations, all of us share the joy of the children and the parents. We are the “Click Media Aunts and Uncles” and we love every minute of it!

My son Bronson remembers lots of things. It is important to have photo reinforcement of those times. We were and are very close. The re-telling of the walks he took with Grandaddy Ben and the photos to prove it are such a wonderful part of our lives.

Bronson’s father left when we had been married 9 months and I was 6 months pregnant with Bronson. So, Bronson won’t know the walks with his father or the rides on his shoulders. Sometimes it just works out differently and you find out that what you thought was the perfect family isn’t…quite. Fortunately for Bronson and me, we had my wonderful parents. Families may take on varying shapes. Best to cherish and revere them, whatever loving form they may take.

Charlotte will never forget Daddy carrying her on his shoulders…or Mom and Dad dressing up with her for Halloween.

mikefamily.jpgGood show, Andi and Michael!

7 Responses to “Upon Daddy’s Shoulders”

  1. Awe, Conny, you are sweet as can be, I don’t care what you try to say!

  2. Barbara Stevenson Says:

    As one of Charlotte’s grandmothers I really appreciate your story – of course I’m crying, can’t help it! Thanks so much for sharing our beautiful grandaughter, and son, and daughter in law with everyone. Of course you are “preaching to the choir” with me, but someone, somewhere will be inspired to create memories for their child through reading your story. We are just darn lucky that our family is so great!
    Thanks,
    Barbara

  3. It was my pleasure to present pictures of such a terrific family. It is even more of a pleasure to know you, Andie, Michael and “Princess” Charlotte. It is no wonder that you are proud, Barbara. Keep making beautiful memories.

  4. Mike King Sr. Says:

    I have been on a trip and just now have been able to open the message that Andie sent. Barbara and I visited Andie and Michael and Charlotte over Christmas, and we too took the daily walk that Michael and Charlotte do. I was blown away by the attention to family at Click, and really happy that Charlotte could be included in such a way. On the walk back to Michael’s and Andies’ house,Michael hoisted Charlotte onto his shoulders, and I realized what a special event that walk was every day. Thanks so much for highlighting it.

  5. It was my pleasure to focus on one of life’s treasures.
    Michael is indeed a very special man and an incredible father. Andie couldn’t be more perfect. Charlotte is a delight in every way. It makes me happy inside just to know them.
    Ever,
    Conny

  6. Conny,
    I was very touched by this story and thing Mike is a great person.
    You are right. Never let a day go by that you don’t show your children you love them and really care how they feel. It is the smallest kindness people of any age remember. Eric’s father, Eric is my son, put him on his shoulders many times and to this day he
    still talks about it. I am sorry about Bronson’s dad leaving like that by you have done an outstanding joy raising him. You have given him all the love a support he needs to be a fine young man.
    Conny I agree with Andie you are a sweet and caring person. It shows in what you say to us and how you treat those close to you.
    This comes with the deepest respect for you as a person, actress and friend. Love to you and all those who’s lives you’ve touched.

  7. Conny,
    I was very touched by your story and think Mike is a great person.
    Your right. Never let a day go by that you don’t show your children you love them and really care how they feel. It is the smallest kindness’s people of any age remember. Tim, Eric’s father,
    put him on his shoulders many times. To this day my son remembers this and talks about it. I am sorry about Bronson’s dad leaving like that but you have done an outstanding job of raising him. You have given him all the love and support he needed to become a fine young man.
    Conny, I agree with Andie. You are a sweet and caring person for it shows in what you say to us and how you treat those close to you. This thought for you comes with the deepest respect for you as a person, actress and friend. Love to you and all those who’s lives you’ve touched. They are lucky to have you as a friend.
    PS You might have guessed I am not the best speller and I wanted to say this just right so forgive the duplicate.

Leave a Reply

