I Want My Boys Home!

Bronson and Sam are still in Bora Bora. I was thrilled that they were going to have such a rich adventure.  I did not know HOW rich. Something came over me when I learned that they would not be returning on schedule.  Actually, something came over me before that.

Knowing that I could not speak with them, see them or touch them, did more to me than I thought was possible.  A few days into their trip, I decided to change my hair color to a dark shade.  It did nothing for me.  I did not know that it might be related to their not being near.  I went to work…but little else. I had already weathered the storm of their  “swimming with sharks”. They did not know that there was a recent news story telling of how a woman swam with rays and was killed because one of the rays ran into her!   I rationalized that by telling myself that if they were hurt, or worse, it was a choice they made and something that they wanted to do.  I got a migraine and had bad dreams.  sting-ray-gliding.jpg

This past weekend, I bleached my hair back to where it was. Finally, I had to say to myself, “What is the matter with you?” I had become depressed and even thought about what it would be like to live without them.  Not a good thing, but not a bad thing either.  You reflect on how great you have it. After all, they were safe. But then, I had a bad dream about Ryan; he’s my boss but he is also my friend…a real other Son. 

ryan-sophia-imgp1255.jpg(Ryan with Sophia at work.)

 

 

 

Then…the news that there would be no gas for helicopters (or anything else!) because of the strike.  Then, there is a hiker from Canada (with a wife and two children with him…what the fuck was he thinking?!)  in their group who decided to go where he shouldn’t and became lost! What is a mother to do?

With the help of Ryan, I learned how to text a little better to learn that Bronson and Sam were fine. Another Xanax and I was able to make it through the day. I hate takin’ them things!

Okay, now I know a little about how my dear mother felt with all the crazy things I did (all after age 18!) I learned that one way to get a message to my boys was to add a comment to their blogs and that I just want my boys to be home.  I want my boys to be home! Did I already say that?

sambronsonedited_13.jpg

3 Responses to “I Want My Boys Home!”

  1. Nice Site layout for your blog. I am looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tom Humes

  2. […] karenfaye wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt Bronson and Sam are still in Bora Bora. I was thrilled that they were going to have such a rich adventure.  I did not know HOW rich. Something came over me when I learned that they would not be returning on schedule.  Actually, something came over me before that. […]

  3. Boy Conny do I know the feeling! My son went to Europe alone to
    see his then girlfriend. He had never been that far before and it
    scared me to death. Not only that he met the girl but never her parents so we didn’t know what kind of people he was staying with.
    He had to change planes in amsterdam. We had no communication with him except by e mail. He got sick well, you can imagine. I went nuts until he got home. I don’t think changing your hair color was wierd, I wish I though of it! We love our kids no matter how old
    they are or how responsible. Glad to know another mother was has harried as I was. Thanks sharing that with us.

Leave a Reply

